I am back, and baking again!

red apples
Red apples on a tree. Picture from pioneerdad.com

 

This summer went fast! I had so many plans what to do, and to make a blog entry of, but…..
The truth is, time just flied, and my life went full cray cray for many reasons and it has been difficult to hang on on it.

First of all, I found out that one of my dreams came true: I got pregnant! The joy to the whole family was enormous, but as I knew what will happen, shortly after, huge nausea took over me. I’ve experienced that before also (this is my third pregnancy), but this time there was something new added on constant nausea, dizziness and throwing up: awful fatigue. I have NEVER been that tired! Due to my rheumas, I know what chronic tiredness is, but this was something unimaginable. So it took all of my strength to cope with basic normal daily stuff like getting up from bed and make breakfast, stay awake to go to toilet and make lunch at some point etc. I barely managed to deal with studies, and I got so happy when summer holiday started! Because of that, everything extra, including this blog, had to be put to rest for some time. Now I am back on my feet and pregnancy is on half way, so everything is much easier!

Secondly, whole our family got ourselves in common hobby: judo. Tho I have been in the role of coach/maintenance/support/driver, since with rheumas I cannot do that myself, no matter how much I would want to!
That has been taking bunch of time recently but in a good way. That is one of the best sports existing truly, trains whole body and mind as really few sports can do!

Also, my husband got a new job, which starts later this year and he has to go to courses for that, so daily schedules has been pretty full! BUT! All these are just good news, and now life rolls in its own rhythm and routines takes over, I also have more time to focus on blogs and building nest and preparing everything for new family member to join us at winter!

As I mentioned, I’m back and baking again. It’s already fall, so beautiful one also,I might add, and season of berries has passed already, except for lingonberries!!! This year was not so good with blueberries, but we got some of them from our forests in any case. Long ago I have put in freezer our black- and red currants for winter: fresh juice made of those in winter colds is really the heart of finnish winter. But lingonberries! Those red jewels of our forests, super-food, healthy in more ways than is known. Still after cold nights and warm sunny days those grows huge, bigger than I’ve ever seen actually! Many places are already empty of those, but our forest has them so much still. At this moment also my family is in there picking them. I will bake something delicious of those and make own blog entry of lingonberry!

But most important thing is, that now is a season of APPLES. Finnish apples are delicious, not necessarily sweetest possible, but really wonderful nevertheless. Unfortunately our garden doesn’t have any apple trees, but we are fortunate to have such neighbor with many trees, and were lucky to get some apples from them. So, today I am going to bake an Apple pie, my own version of more traditional recipe.

Traditionally apples goes together with cinnamon, a combination which really works especially at Christmas, but I don’t always want to use cinnamon especially since my husband hates it, but for chance it is nice to do something else instead. So I created this version few years ago, and replaced cinnamon with brown sugar. I had to write the whole recipe new and try few times with right measurements since my current oven is a bit bigger than previous ones, so naturally baking tray is bigger also, in this case inside measurements are 33cm times 45cm. This recipe makes huge pie, where you get to cut bunch of squares to be served to many many people, or to be frozen for later usage. What I have found out, this pie gets even better if you freeze it, the moist stays perfectly and structure doesn’t suffer at all. To me, pie has to be moist and “fluffy”, yet crumbly  and tender. Not at all firm and tight.
Original recipe told to melt butter fully liquid and add it in dough last, but then structure becomes more stiff and firm. So I made a solution to melt butter only half way: so it is soft and starts to get liquid just tiny bit, but not much! It has to stay firm still!  And I add it together with eggs and sugar, whipping takes only one moment and it becomes so so fluffy and big and firm foam! Thus, the structure of baked pie is just perfect for my taste!

You need:
4 eggs
2,5 cups of sugar
4 teaspoons of vanilla sugar
4 teaspoons of baking powder
5,75 cups of wheat flour
3 cups of milk
250grams of semi-melted butter

4-6 apples
Few table spoons of brown sugar

First you need to peel apples and chop them in small squares. Put them in bowl and add brown sugar on them right away and stir good so sugar covers them equally everywhere. Then put bowl to wait.

In bowl measure wheat flour, vanilla sugar and baking powder and mix them good. Melt butter in another big bowl so it is soft but not liquid. Add sugar and eggs. Use mixer to make them fluffy and hard.

Now combine flour mix with egg-sugar mix in small doses mixing all the time and add milk after each time you add flours. Mix till smooth but not too long, or it will get flat.

On baking tray put baking paper, pour dough on it and with spatula smooth it everywhere. Then add apple squares evenly everywhere (I had a bit too little of them) and put in pre-heated oven in 175deg for about hour. Remember, time varies between different ovens, also gas oven may behave differently than this electric I use. Do the tooth pick test to be sure when it is done!

When out of oven, let it cool on counter on its paper. Cut in squares of wished sizes, store or serve with vanilla sauce or vanilla ice cream. I used thick vanilla sauce which was perfect choice for this!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Yummy!!! 

So here was this long long post, thank you if you read this far, hopefully soon I will manage to post something else also than baking stuffs 😀 Tho I have to admit, I enjoy greatly making these posts!

Later I will make a “bet” and keep blog entries of it, keep an eye on here to see more!

I wish your autumn starts nicely wherever you are and that you have fresh apples to eat!

3 thoughts on “I am back, and baking again!

    1. Thank you!! 😀 It ended up really wonderful even if I say it myself, and even if I planned of storing some for later, we ate it in same day… tho we got help from one friend who visited us!

      Like

Leave a Reply

